After hearing a “Click It or Ticket” radio jingle for the hundredth time, I decided to do a little research on the newly passed Texas law:
Who Gets the Ticket
If you are age 15 and over and in a passenger vehicle (passenger car, light truck, sport utility vehicle, passenger van designed to transport 15 or fewer passengers including the driver, truck, or truck tractor) without your seat belt on, you have violated the law and can get a ticket. The tickets normally will be between $25 and $50. These tickets will be given to the person not wearing the seat belt, not to the driver. Personally I think this makes sense, if my friend in the back seat chooses not to wear his seat belt I should not have to pay for his mistake.
When YOU Get the Ticket
If you are driving a passenger vehicle and someone under the age of 17 is not in a seat belt or car seat (which is required for children under 5 who are also shorter than 4’10″) you have violated the law and can get a ticket. These tickets normally are between $100 and $200. These tickets are given to the driver, not to the passenger. This also leaves an interesting area, when the passenger is age 15 or 16 they can be ticketed as well as the driver.
Exceptions to the “Click It or Ticket” Rule
There are six exceptions:
- if you have a doctor’s note for the person to not have to wear a seat belt;
- if you are operating as an employee of the US Postal Service;
- if you are delivering newspapers;
- if you are operating for a utility company and reading meters;
- if you are driving a commercial farm vehicle under 48,000 pounds; and
- you are operating a trash truck.
This basically covers Texas Seat Belt Laws post 2009 revisions. They are available via the Texas Department of Public Safety’s website.